top of page
  • Dominik Wilde

O. Eriksson & Larsson Share the Spoils in SoCal

Updated: Dec 12, 2023

Oliver Eriksson and Robin Larsson shared the victories in Group E as Nitrocross returned to Glen Helen Raceway in Southern California.

The younger Eriksson brother's win on Saturday came after he fended off a charging Conner Martell, the Vermont Sports Car driver enjoying his strongest weekend of the season so far. His second place finish behind the Olsbergs MSE man snapped a podium drought stretching back over a year. Behind them, chief title protagonists Larsson and Kevin Eriksson battled to the line, with the reigning champion just edging the elder Eriksson brother. 

Saturday's top-five was rounded out by Fraser McConnell, who bested Andreas Bakkeurd who spun early in the final. Travis Pastrana and Brian Deegan – who were both also racing in Side-by-Sides over the weekend – completed Saturday's final result.

On Sunday, Larsson fended off McConnell to take his third win of the season, making him the sole driver on that many victories this season so far. The pair began the day in similar fashion, with McConnell nudging his way past the Swede in the dying moments of the Top Qualifier race.

Sunday’s podium was completed by Kevin Eriksson, who started the final on the front row of the grid alongside Larsson, but was overhauled by Eriksson early on.

After missing Saturday's final, Viktor Vrackx ended his maiden Nitrocross weekend with fourth on Sunday, ahead of Martell who took back-to-back top-fives for the first time in his Nitrocross Group E career.

Saturday victor Oliver Eriksson and Deegan wound sixth and seventh in Sunday’s final after both retiring early, while Lia Block – taking Pastrana’s place on Sunday – impressed to qualify for the final, but a motor failure prevented her from taking the start.

In NX NEXT, Casper Jansson headed into the holidays with the points lead after grabbing back-to-back wins. Pastrana and Kainan Baker shared Side-by-Side victories, while Ryan Rodriguez and Blake Wilkey split the Baja Bug wins, with Kyle Zirkus third on both days.

166 views0 comments


bottom of page