top of page
  • Greg Terlizzi

Nitro Rallycross Presents: The Ken Block Championship Trophy | Awarded to Group E Series Winner

(Los Angeles / Saturday – March 18, 2023) With competition heating up at Nitro Rallycross 2022/23 season finale, series organizers have taken the wraps off the Ken Block Championship Trophy. Starting Sunday, this will be presented to the series driver champion of Nitro RX’s top class, Group E.

Lucy Block, Ken’s wife and an accomplished rally driver, said: "It is amazing that Nitro has honored Ken with the Nitro RX championship trophy. Ken not only loved competing in rallycross, but he was a huge supporter of the sport. He was friends with many of the drivers in the paddock and would have loved to have seen them battle in the finale this weekend.”

Travis Pastrana, a long-time friend of and collaborator with Ken, said: “Ken was an amazing friend, and it was a privilege to know his family. His impact on rallycross – on motorsports, overall – cannot be overstated. In addition to his incredible driving, he ran races and gave opportunities to so many people, including myself, to progress and achieve our dreams. He was instrumental in building rally and Nitro Rallycross in America. His Gymkhana series put an exclamation mark on the fun and excitement that was possible behind the wheel. This award recognizes his contribution to the sport and celebrates his legacy.”

The trophy, created by Cold Hard Art in Indianapolis, is made of polished stainless steel and alloy. It takes elements from the final trophy awarded at every Nitro RX round, and then opens up the design. The base features panels etched with track maps from each series stop, as well as #KB43VER. Rounding out the look, dynamic accents incorporate Nitro RX’s trademark Diode Blue with touches of Americana Blue drawn from the series’ Nitro Circus roots.

In January, Nitro RX permanently retired Ken’s iconic 43 from the series. Having made the number his own over nearly two decades, no other driver – other than a member of the Block family - will race in Nitro RX with 43 going forward. A founding Nitro RX driver, Ken was the first to answer Travis’ call five years ago and he joined Nitro RX for its 2018 debut. Ken was also on hand alongside Travis at the press conference to announce the inaugural event.

The Ken Block Championship Trophy will be awarded for the first time tomorrow at the completion of Nitro RX’s 2022/23 season. After eight rounds spanning Europe, Canada and the US, the Group E title is coming down to the last weekend at Los Angeles’ iconic Glen Helen Raceway.

DRR / JC’s Robin Larsson (SWE) has built a strong lead, having won two finals and reached the podium six times. But his teammate Andreas Bakkerud (NOR) scored a big win Friday night in first final of this triple-shot weekend and sits within striking distance in second place. DRR’s Fraser McConnell (JAM) and OMSE’s Oliver Eriksson (SWE) also very much in the hunt in third and fourth. Pastrana, driving for Vermont SportsCar, rounds out the series contenders. But he came into the final weekend in fifth place and will need to turn it up significantly if he wants to top the podium.

428 views0 comments


bottom of page